Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
         Monday, March 30, 2015

The nomination period for the 2014 Council of the Federation (COF) Literacy Award is now closed. Please check back in April 2015 for nomination information.

The COF award recognizes outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy in each of Canada’s provinces and territories. The recipient of this award is someone who currently contributes significant knowledge, time and/or expertise to assist literacy learners, communities and/or organizations.

Previous Saskatchewan Council of the Federation Literacy Award recipients are:

  • 2013 – Phyllis Jones, a volunteer literacy tutor committed to helping adult learners achieve their goals.
  • 2012 - Gordon Li, a literacy learner dedicated to helping others achieve their literacy goals
  • 2011 - Dr. Wei He, a literacy learner in Regina
  • 2010 – Kim Newlove, a K-12 educator and literacy leader from Saskatoon
  • 2009 – Dr. Margaret Lipp, former Literacy Commissioner and accomplished educator, administrator and literacy advocate from Regina
  • 2008 – Irene Jacques, a First Nations Elder and literacy leader from Standing Buffalo First Nation, noted for promoting and establishing Aboriginal Literacy initiatives provincially and federally
  • 2007 – Colleen Christopherson-Coté, a community literacy leader from Coronach
  • 2006 – Carey Rigby-Wilcox, community literacy volunteer and children’s author from Saskatoon
  • 2005 – Lynda Richards, literacy learner and entrepreneur from Swift Current

Information about the awards can be found on The Council of the Federation website.

Contact us:
Provincial Library and Literacy Office
(306) 787-2514

Home/About/Ministry Overview/Literacy Office/Council of the Federation of Literacy Award
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.